Don’t Cause a Blowout

So, I recently got a new bicycle. The family and I were riding along the West Orange Trail, and things were going OK. I saw an air station. I thought, wow, I should take this opportunity to add some air to my tires. They are OK, but could probably be better.

So, I pulled over. And added some air. I don’t know how much. I do know that about 10 seconds after I added the air, the tube exploded. Like, split into pieces, and was hanging out of the tire. Wow. One loud pop, and I was walking home. I was kicking myself. Why did I eel the need to mess with the tire. It obviously did not need air, and when I added it, the tube failed. Had I left things alone, I would have had much more fun.

As I was walking, I had time to think. Why did I mess with things? Why do people mess with things? I had not measured how much air pressure was in the tire. The tire was doing what it should do.

Why do we have a tendency to mess with things in ministry? I don’t mean when we fix things or improve things that we know need to improve. How do we resist the urge to tinker with what is going good?

Change for the sake of change is just as bad as doing something because that’s the way you have always done it before. Be careful that the changes you make are good and necessary, not just because you have the urge to add air.

The pump was there. I had the opportunity, but I did not have the need. Don’t blow it like I did.

One thought on “Don’t Cause a Blowout

  1. Good point, Scott.
    Thanks for the words of advice. Same goes with most things in life. When you tinker with something that s working, they tend to get messed up :[

Comments are closed.