Fertile Ground

zigzag grass

A farmer went out to sow his seed. As he was scattering the seed, some fell along the path, and the birds came and ate it up. Some fell on rocky places, where it did not have much soil. It sprang up quickly, because the soil was shallow. But when the sun came up, the plants were scorched, and they withered because they had no root. Other seed fell among thorns, which grew up and choked the plants. Still other seed fell on good soil, where it produced a crop—a hundred, sixty or thirty times what was sown. He who has ears, let him hear. Matthew 13:3-9

Today the sun shined long enough for me to catch up on some much needed yard work. We are just coming out of the dry season here in Florida. To be frank, we have had tons of rain over the last couple of weeks. Right before this rain, I spread some fertilizer around. I covered the front and sides pretty well, but started to run out in the back. I took the last little bit and spread it out by hand.

With all the rain, the fertilized grass is growing a deep green. The rest still light green or brown. The difference is most dramatic in the back, where I can see this zig zag strip of dark green. It looks pretty funny. Luckily it’s in the back where only family will see it.

What’s the difference? The grass in the yard has about the same amount of rain and sun. It can only be the fertilizer. The zig zag line gives it away. The other grass is alive, but it’s not as healthy as it can be. I put something into the ground that helped the grass grow.

My ground looks good. Not thorny, not shallow, not hard, but is the soil fertile? My grass is growing in soft sandy ground that is common in Florida. It is not full of the kinds of things that make grass grow well. In order to be good for grass, something has to be put into it. My grass is sucking out what it can, but in order to grow well, I need to fertilize it.

What am I doing to make the ground of my life fertile so God can grow me?

