Fixing My Mac

happy macI have been recovering from the loss of 700GB of data and a logic board. Since Apple, in it’s wisdom, decided to wipe my internal drive when fixing the graphics card, I had to restore my data (as much as I could) from my Time Machine backup.

After that, I set up my new external drive, a Seagate 500GB Free Agent drive with a case, as the new Time machine back up drive. And i left it to back up over night.

The next morning I had lost the ability to drag-and-drop. I could select any file, even open applications, but I could not drag them anywhere. Couple of quick searches on the net turned up some cryptic mentions of permissions. I tried to repair them, twice. but nothing helped. I finally resorted to booting from the Mac OS X disc and doing a re-install of the system software (the one that keeps the settings and content, not the one that wipes the drive). That fixed the issue quite nicely.

I still don’t know what happened. I have no idea why it would be working before bed, but then not the next morning. Since then the computer has been wonderful. It’s great to have the storage, and with a recent battery purchase, it’s almost like having a new laptop.

2 thoughts on “Fixing My Mac

  1. You are lucky they agreed to fix it.

    Over a month ago I updated from 10.5.5 to 10.5.7 on my MBP 17″ from 2007. Upon rebooting as part of the update, the screen failed to work!

    I was mortified that my Mac no longer worked, was it the update? After researching the symptom, “black screen of death, keyboard works” I discovered that Apple had extended a warranty on the 8600M Nvidia card, the same as in my machine.
    I took it to a Genius and inquired about the warranty.
    However, the Genius told me that there was likely a hidden condition within my machine that may have been brought out by the update, causing the symptom to occur suddenly. This stuck in my mind because I was encouraged to update by this on Apple’s site:
    “The 10.5.7 Update is recommended for all users running Mac OS X Leopard version 10.5 to 10.5.6, and includes general operating system fixes that enhance the stability, compatibility and security of your Mac.”

    According to the Genius who was looking at my laptop, the 8600M Nvidia chip of my MacBook Pro which falls into the time frame of affected chips does not however fall into the specific range Nvidia is covering. Next he contradicted himself by first telling me the logic board needed to be replaced, and that the Nvidia card was fine… and then after asking why i can take screenshots of working software if the logic board failed, he said it may be the GPU. Without opening and inspecting the hardware he quoted a price to replace the logic board at only $330… if i understand correctly others have spent $1000 plus and $300 is a standard service fee. Still, if it is defective, and there is no way of predicting which chips are most affected, and my laptop is exhibiting the exact symptoms analogous with affected chips, I fail to see why I was denied coverage under the extended warranty for a free repair, as many others have received.
    BEWARE ALL FUTURE MAC CUSTOMERS… APPLE DOES NOT STAND BEHIND THE QUALITY OF THEIR PRODUCTS AND A MAC GENIUS WILL WORK HARD TO DENY ANY WARRANTY YOU DESERVE.

  2. Sounds like you were very unlucky.

    I guess Apple suffers from the same kind of employee issues other companies do.

    Based on my experience, and the experiences of those I know with an array of other issues, the “Geniuses” here have been very helpful, and tried to work with us when possible.

Comments are closed.