Recovery from Hard Drive Failure is a Slow Process

I have been trying to recreate the files I lost when my internal laptop drive got wiped the same week 2 external drives failed. I lost over 700 GBs of data. I was able to save a big chunk, but lost hundreds of movies files I have ripped from my DVDs to play on my iPod and Apple TV. Even though I was able to find about 80 of those files, I have a long way to go. I am up to 160 videos now.

It takes 2-3 hours per movie to rip. I have another 150 to go.

And now, tonight, my newest external Time Machine drive is not mounting. This is a brand new Seagate Free Agent drive with a 5 year warranty. I’ve had it just a couple of months. If the Disk Utility can’t repair it, I will be sending it off to be replaced. I need a reliable solution for back ups. Maybe Lacie?

One thought on “Recovery from Hard Drive Failure is a Slow Process

Comments are closed.