I Finished Ripping My DVD Library

It’s done!

While I have probably missed some, or forgotten to include captions on some, I finally finished the rip of my entire DVD collection. The files can be played on both my Apple TV and my iPods/iPhones.

Over 300 DVDs. Over 620GB of movie files. You may remember that I was about 270 movies into this process before when my external HD failed, and I hard to begin again. I managed to salvage about 50 but had to re do the rest. Over 2 hours of rip time for each. Man. I am so glad to be on the other side of this.

I used Handbrake exclusively. Even though I have had some issues with the new version, it is the best free DVD ripping software available for Mac. I will now finish my trial and error testing of the new version, and compare it to 0.93.

I am just so happy to be done. It was a huge job because we have a large collection of DVDs. Now I can have them waiting to be played on the Apple TV, stream them through something like boxee, carry them on my iPod or iPhone.

One thought on “I Finished Ripping My DVD Library

Comments are closed.