Trust

Trust.

For people of my generation, it’s hard to do. We were born a few years after the time our parents had their faith in the US government shaken by Vietnam and Watergate. Whether they intended to or not, they passed on the expectation to distrust authority. When I was growing up, I, like many, was drawn to the phrase “question authority”. I still submitted to it, but I questioned it. I’ve never been one to simply accept something without a reason or cause.

As a result, I often consider that I know what is “best” in every circumstance, for everyone. I never share that knowledge unless asked. But if you ask, I will tell you. And since I know what should be, I question decisions that do not follow my opinions. Nice bit of circular logic, isn’t it?

I obviously do not actually know what is best, but I often think I do.

Trust is this fragile thing, that grows over time. It is easily fractured, easily crushed. But not easily repaired.

Trust overcomes the need to be right, and overshadows the desire to question. Trust can overcome generational tendencies and personal inclinations. But it’s hard.

Years of joint experiences have bred trust between some that I work with, and for. Normally we are in sync with direction and decisions, but when we are not I know that my ideas and views are considered, even if they are eventually rejected. I know that they have experiences I do not and they may be in possession of facts I am not.

In a seemingly natural outgrowth, trust happens when people come together following the will of God. They work together for common goals. Over time they learn each others strengths. Those in authority learn to listen to those surrounding them. Those who “lead from the second chair” (or third or further down) learn when to simply accept a decision.

That is a hard thing for me to do. It requires a conscious decision on my part. It doesn’t come naturally.

When decisions are made, I believe they sought God. I believe that they have sought wise counsel. I believe that they are in possession of information I do not have, which may skew the decision away from the obvious (to me). I trust.

I trust that in the same situation, with the same responsibility to make the call, I would end up with the same decision. I trust.

