Bluetooth Keyboards and Mobile Device

I am typing this on my iPhone 3GS running iOS4 using an Apple wireless keyboard.

I am pretty good with my thumbs on the iPhones glass surface keyboard. The iPad is a bit larger, so I revert to my normal hunt and peck style. Since i hunt and peck, I always look at my keys, so the loss of a tactile keyboard isn’t as big of a deal as it is to some.

But there are times when I am on the iPad or iPhone and really want to type a lot. Like posts on WordPress, or long notes. In those cases, a Bluetooth keyboard could be a big help. I can type faster and better. Less mistakes and less time means more efficiency.

(For people who touch type, a keyboard can early be a relief. But, be aware the Apple keyboard is very small, like a netbook. Perfect for hunting and pecking, but may be a hindrance for touch typers)

So, I got an Apple wireless keyboard. The coming of iOS4 allowed me to hook it up to either and iPad or and iPhone (sorry 3G owners, I don’t think it works for you). Set up on the phone was simple.

I navigated to Bluetooth settings in the general settings menu, and turned on the keyboard. the phone sensed the device, and I was asked to type four numbers and enter. Then it was synced.

I have been happily typing every since.

I know what you are thinking, doesn’t the use of a keyboard make the mobile devices less mobile. Yes it does. But the battery life of the iPad and iPhone is much longer than my laptop. So it makes sense for me to use those devices to take notes. For people without laptops, the keyboard allows them to do more with what mobile devices they do have.

A couple of things to watch out for. if you are using the same keyboard for multiple devices, you will have to make the device forget the keyboard if you change. that is, if you are typing on the iPhone, and then want to add the keyboard to your ipad, you need to make you phone forget the keyboard. Also, the keyboard is great, but you will still have to touch the screen to use your apps.

For people who touch type, a keyboard can really be a relief. But, be aware the Apple keyboard is very small, like a netbook. Perfect for hunting and pecking, but may be a hindrance for touch typers

I have a small stand for the iPhone and my case doubles as one for the iPad. You may want to look at something like that so you can place the screen in the bst spot. I’m not using the stand right now, and have the iPhone lying next to me on the chair. I have to turn my head to the right to see it. It’s a bit weird.

If you are doing a lot of typing on your mobile devices, like the iPhone or iPad, I would suggest that you get a bluetooth keyboard.

